His Voice

voice-of-the-lordLate night Bible reading always does this girl some serious good! I find myself searching for something that is going to quiet me before going to bed. Whether it is just one verse or a whole chapter, the Lord gives me just what a need, and tonight was no different.

As most of you know, my blog is entitled Just a Voice– Voicing my love for the Lord, Life, and Living. As I said above, the Lord always gives me just what I need. Just a few moments ago, I was reading Psalm 29, and the main idea of this passage is the Lord’s voice! I sure was excited, not only because this is exactly what I needed to read and meditate on, but because I felt like it would be an encouragement to my readers as well. Don’t you just love to share how the Lord speaks to you?!

I find myself going through life sometimes with no other voice in my head but my own. I say this with shame because as a believer in Christ the main voice in my head should be the Lord’s voice. Decisions, relationships, lifestyles– all this and more should be directed by the Lord’s voice, not my own. I am so thankful for that sweet voice of the Lord who guides, directs, strengthens, helps me and so much more… It is a sad thing when a believer goes so far from the Lord that the voice he once heard is only but a whisper, if even heard at all. My prayer for you and I is that we hear the voice of the Lord on a daily basis as we read His Word and talk with Him in prayer.

1 Give unto the Lord, O ye mighty, give unto the Lord glory and strength.
Give unto the Lord the glory due unto his name; worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness.
The voice of the Lord is upon the waters: the God of glory thundereth: the Lord is upon many waters.
The voice of the Lord is powerful; the voice of the Lord is full of majesty.
The voice of the Lord breaketh the cedars; yea, the Lord breaketh the cedars of Lebanon.
He maketh them also to skip like a calf; Lebanon and Sirion like a young unicorn.
The voice of the Lord divideth the flames of fire.
The voice of the Lord shaketh the wilderness; the Lord shaketh the wilderness of Kadesh.
The voice of the Lord maketh the hinds to calve, and discovereth the forests: and in his temple doth every one speak of his glory.
10 The Lord sitteth upon the flood; yea, the Lord sitteth King for ever.
11 The Lord will give strength unto his people; the Lord will bless his people with peace.

                                                                             ~Psalm 29

 
 
2 thoughts on “His Voice

Leave a Reply

